You are here: Home > About > Behind the Scenes > Meet the team

The Woodmeadow Trust Team

Our Patron
Professor George Peterken OBE – woodland ecologist

Chair: Professor David Raffaelli

Rosalind Forbes Adam

Liz Grierson

Dr John Grimshaw

Patrick James

Nick Lane-Fox

Dr Sarah West


Founder and Director of Projects

Rosalind Forbes Adam -

Woodmeadow Officer

Dan Carne -

Administration and Marketing Manager

Emma Daniels -

Education Officer 

Angela Ferguson -

Assistant Site Manager and Volunteer Coordinator

Kara Garnett -

Finance and Marketing Administrator 

Kirsty Buchan -

Ecological Advisers
Professor George Peterken OBE - Forest Ecologist (Patron of Hagge Woods Trust)
Dr David Chesmore - Senior lecturer, Bio Apps CEnv, FRES, FIAgrE, FIOA Department of Electronics, University of York
Dr Richard Comont - Bumblebee Conservation Trust
Sam Cooper - Field Manager for Yorkshire, Forestry Commission
Dr Michael Dodd - Honorary Associate, Open University Faculty of Science Department of Environment, Earth & Ecosystems
Professor Alastair Fitter CBE FRS - Plant Ecologist
Professor David Gowing - Professor of Botany, Environment, Earth and Ecosystems, Open University Floodplain Meadows Partnership
Andrew Grayson - Entomologist
Martin Hammond - Ecologist, Wildlife Consultant
Ann Hanson - Yorkshire Farming and Wildlife Partnership, Yorkshire Mammal Group
Dr Thorunn Helgason - Department of Biology, University of York
Miles King FLS - Chief Executive, People Need Nature
Professor Sir John Lawton CBE FRS
Jeff Lunn MSc - Chartered Environmentalist and founder Member of the Institute of Ecology & Environmental Management
Rob Masheder - North Yorkshire Bat Group
Professor David Raffaelli - Director of BESS, University of York
Dr Kelly Redeker - Lecturer in Biogeochemistry, Department of Biology, University of York
Professor Ian Rotherham - Sheffield Hallam University and UKEconet
Mike Seville - Forestry and Woodland Adviser, Country Land and Business Association
Professor Chris Spray MBE - Chair of Water Science & Policy, University of Dundee
David Tate - Ornithologist
Crispin Thorn MICFor - Area Director, Forestry Commission, Yorkshire and North East
Dr Sarah West - Research Associate / Teaching Fellow in Field Skills and Ecology, Stockholm Environment Institute / Environment Department, University of York
Dr Raj Whitlock - Department of Evolution, Ecology and Behaviour, Institute of Integrative Biology, University of Liverpool
Dr Ruth Waters - Deputy Chief Scientist, Principal Specialist Ecosystem Approach and Natural Capital, Natural England

As a registered charity much of our work in promoting the joy, interest and understanding of nature as well as pursuing scientific research and developing our woodmeadow creation methodology relies on the generous support of businesses and individuals as well as foundations, trusts and grants.  We welcome all interest and believe we have much to offer in return to those who would like to support nature and the environment.

Click here to find out more about Supporting The Woodmeadow Trust


By becoming a Friend, you will help fund our work at Three Hagges Woodmeadow. Our research is leading the re-wilding of our countryside, restoring lost wildflowers and renewing pollinator habitats that have declined so drastically. The research, maintenance, planting and education involved on the site all require dedicated care and your support is vital.

Learn more about our Become a Friend scheme


Volunteers play a vital role in the life of the woodmeadow.  Fortnightly volunteers sessions bring like-minded people together and offer skills and ecological training.

Find out more about the joy of Volunteering